How was the Center established?

The King Salman Center for Local Administration was established in recognition of the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques, King Salman bin Abdul Aziz, for his enormous efforts to turn Riyadh from a small town into a thriving urban capital and an international capital, back when he was the Governor of Riyadh Region.

 

Who is the founder of the Center?

The Center was founded by its current president, His Highness Prince Abdulaziz bin Mohammed bin Ayyaf, the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of Prince Sultan University, Vice President of the Riyadh Philanthropic Society for Sciences, former Mayor of Riyadh Region and a much respected pioneer in local governance.

 

Our scope of work

The Center conducts research and studies, advisory services, conducts events and designs specialized management training courses for management. The Center provides services to partners and clients through professional and specialized staff. The Center also runs the King Salman Award for Local Governance in the Arab World in cooperation with the Arab Development Administrative Organization, as well as hosting special projects such as the Saudi Government Digital Map.

 

What makes us different?

The Center is the first think tank in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia specialized in local governance. The center is recognized as the first non-profit research center that combines theory and practice, making it a partner for decision makers in setting goals.

Our Principles

Our core values lie in being a long-term, trusted, and local partner to our stakeholders and improving policies and public sector performance with an evidence-based approach.

 

What Do We Mean by "Local Governance"?

Local governance –from the Center's perspective- refers to the ways in which various actors organize the administration and development of regions, rural areas and cities, as well as the processes of decision- and policy-making in those areas.

Governance not only refers to the internal organization and capacities of related institutions, but also analyzes inter-institutional relationships and the role of non-governmental actors in these processes.

The Center considers the local authorities in the Kingdom (such as the Ministry of the Interior, the Ministry of Municipal and Rural Affairs, the Emirates of the regions, the governorates, centers, secretariats, municipalities, district councils, local councils and municipal councils, as well as branches of government agencies in the regions providing the relevant local services) As the most prominent actors in the local administration, and therefore the Center aspires to enhance its performance in meeting the requirements of citizens and their aspirations to develop the areas where they live.

النشأة

أنشئ مركز الملك سلمان للإدارة المحلية تقديراً لخادم الحرمين الشريفين الملك سلمان بن عبد العزيز، وذلك لجهوده الخالدة في تحويل مدينة الرياض من بلدة صغيرة إلى حاضرة عمرانية مزدهرة وعاصمة دولية، حين كان أميراً للمنطقة.

الفكرة

جاءت فكرة إنشاء المركز من صاحب السمو الأمير د.عبد العزيز بن محمد بن عياف نائب رئيس مجلس إدارة مؤسسة الرياض الخيرية للعلوم، ورئيس مجلس أمناء جامعة الأمير سلطان، والأمين السابق لأمانة منطقة الرياض، والريادي البارز في مجال الإدارة المحلية.

عملنا

يُجري المركز أبحاثاً ودراسات، ويقدّم خدمات استشارية، ويقيم فعاليات ويصمم مناهج تدريبية تنفيذية متخصصة تتعلق بالإدارة المحلية وما يرتبط بها من مجالات أخرى، مقدماً خدماته للشركاء والعملاء عبر كادر محترف ومتخصص. يدير المركز أيضا جائزة الملك سلمان للإدارة المحلية العربية بالتعاون مع المنظمة العربية للتنمية الإدارية، علاوة على احتضانه مشاريع خاصة مثل الخارطة الرقمية للحكومة السعودية.

مايميزنا

يُعد المركز أول مركز أبحاث في المملكة متخصص في الإدارة المحلية، ويتمتع بمكانة مرموقة باعتباره أول مركز أبحاث غير ربحي يجمع بين النظرية والممارسة مما يجعله شريكاً لصانعي القرار في رسم الأهداف.

قيمنا

تكمن القيم الأساسية للمركز في أن يكون شريكاً محلياً موثوقاً ودائم للجهات ذات الصلة، ويعمل على تطوير السياسات وأداء القطاع العام باعتماد منهج قائم على الأدلة.

 

ماذا نعني بـ"الإدارة المحلية"؟

يتمثل مفهوم الإدارة المحلية -وفق منظور المركز- إلى الأساليب والآليات التي تنظم بها الجهات الحكومية المعنية إدارة وتنمية المناطق والمدن والمحافظات والقرى والهجر، بالإضافة إلى إدارة وتنمية عمليات صنع القرارات والسياسات في مختلف هذه الوحدات المحلية.

وعليه، فإن الإدارة المحلية لا تشير فقط إلى التنظيم الداخلي أو القدرات المؤسسية للجهات ذات الصلة بهذا المجال فحسب، بل تقوم أيضاً بتحليل العلاقات والارتباطات والتكاملات القائمة بين هذه الجهات، بالإضافة إلى دور المؤسسات غير الحكومية في هذه العمليات.

ومن هنا ينظر المركز للسلطات المحلية في المملكة (كوزارة الداخلية، ووزارة الشؤون البلدية والقروية، وإمارات المناطق، والمحافظات، والمراكز، والأمانات، والبلديات، وكذلك مجالس المناطق والمجالس المحلية والمجالس البلدية، بالإضافة إلى فروع الأجهزة الحكومية في المناطق التي تقدم الخدمات المحلية ذات الصلة) على أنها أبرز الجهات المؤثرة في الإدارة المحلية، وبالتالي فإن المركز يطمح إلى تعزيز أدائها في تلبية متطلبات المواطنين وتطلعاتهم لتطوير المناطق التي يقطنون بها.